135c. Keystone, CO to Colorado Springs, CO; December 19 – 21, 2023

We woke up, ate breakfast, and went down to the garage to get our ski gear on. Zach couldn’t get his boots on and went back to the room. Anna, Ella, Teddy, and I got on the gondola and headed up to the slopes.

As soon as we got off the gondola, we strapped on our skis. Anna and Ella took off while Teddy and I worked on his skiing skills. Teddy and I got two runs in while the girls went on six or so runs.

We decided to take a lunch break and check on Zach. Teddy and I rode the gondola back down while the girls took the 3.5 mile long Schoolmarm run down. Zach came and got Teddy. While waiting for the girls to finish their run, I asked about boot rentals for Zach. The clerk asked if they’d been in the cold and that the plastic could have shrunk. I told Zach to put them in front of the fire.

I picked up the girls and we ate lunch. Zach’s boots fit fine. We went out for the afternoon session. I skied with the kids for a few runs. 

Zach wanted to head back. The girls and I went down Schoolmarm. 

We decided on one more run. We took the lift up and started down Schoolmarm. About 2/3 of the way down, I got turned around. Snow came over my ski and I felt something snap in my leg. The girls walked up to me. The head ski school instructor stopped to see if I was ok. She called ski patrol. I was in pain.

Ski patrol took me to the emergency room. The instructor took Anna and Ella down. She told Kris that the girls were excellent skiers.

I got an x-ray. The ER doc told me I tore my calf muscle; way better than tearing my Achilles. They gave me a set of crutches. Kris and the kids picked me up. We ate dinner and slept.

The next morning, the kids asked to go skiing, but I could hardly move on my leg. We played games the whole day. Kris taught us Class Struggle. 

We read books. We played Pass-Ack-Wards. We enjoyed our time together as a family.

Toward the evening, Kris and Zach packed up the truck. We slept. In the morning, we checked out and drove home; ready for Christmas and calf recovery.


Leave a comment